In memoriam: Jaime Montero, former teacher

“You don’t know what you got ‘til it’s gone.” – Joni Mitchell

I will remember him as a mentor, an artist, and one of the most original minds in the Episcopal Church. I regret that for a while I did not realize that.

But what he has left the Church and the world is an openness that was ahead of its time. I think that, as a post-denominational Catholic, adopting such an attitude on my part and on that of others would be something he really wanted.

He died last Tuesday by the way.

Leave a Reply

