Undermining philosophy and the humanities (re-post)

As some people have already read it before I took it down, I am reposting this, but in an edited form:

One of the first rumors I heard pinned the blame of a recent suicide of a graduate assistant in Ateneo on the amount of philosophical work he was reading. The tragedy, I think, is not only that he died too soon, and there are possible explanations I have been able to learn last night about this, but that some malicious people have decided to turn on the loving struggle with texts we call philosophy as an excuse for his death.

I agree that we will never know what he thought or felt at the time he decided to die. And I urge all of us to ask God to grant him forgiveness and peace, and moreover I urge all within the University to reflect upon what we are doing as an institution in promoting a philosophical and humanistic culture that, as our Christian faith calls us to do, chooses life over the powers of death (Deuteronomy 30:11-20).

This will be the last time I will write about this matter, I promise.

Leave a Reply

