Early in the day…

I have not been blogging so often these days. To be honest, if there is anything I would like to write about, I hesitate to write about it. I can only say that I have been keeping a lot to myself lately, and I am satisfied with that.

There is a time to speak, says Qoheleth, and a time to keep silent.

Meanwhile, I note that we really have to think about the culture of consumption that comes with our market economies. Advent is indeed a time to realize that all things will pass, especially whatever we have, and perhaps it is time to realign our priorities.

It is appropriate that the Gospel for last week was Matthew 25:31-46, in the lectionary shared by many Christian churches. It was, and still is, one of my favorite passages from the Bible. Those who are so concerned about abortion, or gay marriages, or questions of authority would do well to realize that often we are missing the point.

Leave a Reply

