The presumption of responsibility and honor

I don’t want to play the blame game. I can always blame myself for what has happened, because I did not vote for the right people or do enough to campaign for them. (Heck, if I weren’t in ISACC, I would have joined the Ang Kapatiran campaign, but I disagree with their RH position.) I won’t even go into the kinds of people who would need to be blamed in a situation like this.

But there is only one thing I can do: I can be responsible for what I do or not do for my country. If I fail to live up to it, it should be a matter of honor and shame. There is something good about being honorable.

In a time when we start emulating what is so bad about other supposedly modern societies, honor could be the one thing that keeps our communities sane. In a world where it is so easy to destroy people’s reputations, honor is what makes it possible for people to keep their dignity intact.

In that sense, I know that there are still honorable people out there, without the titles or designations. We presume those who are honorable by designation are so because they can be honorable enough to step aside if they are irresponsible. But we must also presume that they are honorable because they can live up to the styles and titles. And we should set an example for them.

Leave a Reply

