Three things (2013/2) – Skipping around the mulberry bush edition

1. I skipped a visual art event or two today. I had enough for this week, and this one was the Philippine-Australia joint show at the Yuchengco Museum, which opened last Tuesday night. The show will be on until February 20. Tomorrow, there will be three visual arts exhibits opening: one at My Little Art Space, another at Light and Space Contemporary (which is just ten minutes from my place), and still another at the Likha-Diwa Cafe on C.P. Garcia road, near the UP Diliman campus. The latter is a much smaller show to which I was invited some time back.

2. Incidentally, my friend Eric and I got to see Slamdance official selection Ang Nawawala (What Isn’t There) at the UP Film Center yesterday night. It was his first time, and it was my fourth. The film opened July 2012, and I wondered if seven months on, it still made an impact. To the extent that it brought forth a lot of memories and stories, it did.

What was noteworthy about that night was that I met someone who has seen the film seven times. That only proved what Geek Fight! founder Paolo Cruz (who was an extra in the film) told me about it, that what Ang Nawawala had was potential repeat value. (His new interactive fiction piece, Escape from Cluster Zeta, has just been launched in beta mode.)

3. Sometime early next week, I will be blogging from Isabela province. I will be there for an agricultural/cultural festival the provincial government is sponsoring, and I am covering this for one of the outlets for which I write. I will be leaving Manila late on Saturday evening for the overnight ride north.

I hope you will all have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

