First Impression: Skin by Sud and Words Anonymous

An enjoyable, well-crafted record but definitely not one I’d play in certain situations. I’d make a huge exception for “Sila,” which appeared in the soundtrack of Baka Siguro Yata. It takes on a trajectory more reminiscent of Marvin Gaye and like musicians,  and aims for a sonic elegance that makes the sexually charged lyrics feel less off-putting than I’d find them.

Meanwhile I must say that the poetry was better than I imagined. I’m more keen on hearing it this time as it was intended. I’d set up a playlist alternating music and poetry. In the case of “Sila” and the counterpart “Dulo’t Simula” it works.

Leave a Reply

